Texas EOS

Round 5 Race Report



This weekend marked the 5th and final event of the Texas EOS. This race was hosted by this year’s asphalt nationals facility, N-Control. This circuit is a brilliantly smooth track just outside of Austin Texas, and always seems to have incredible racing. The final race of the series would also wrap up the overall state champions for each class.

In the premier class, Modified Sedan, Chris Adams and Chris Tosolini battled it out through the rounds with Adams winning the final round of qualifying by less than a tenth of a second. This gave him the advantage in qualifying points and TQ. The main started off slow for Adams but maintained a lead and started to stretch it out until a big mistake coming on to the straight led to Tosolini moving up to first. Tosolini held on and took the win, Adams in second, and Chris Kemper finished in 3rd. This second place finish for Adams marked the unprecedented 5th straight state title in the modified division. Andrew Doherty would finish second overall followed by John Hodges.



















Modified Round 5 Results:

1. Chris Tosolini

2. Chris Adams

3. Chris Kemper

4. Andrew Doherty

5. Johnee Fenimore



















Modified Sedan Series Champions:

1. Chris Adams

2. Andrew Doherty

3. John Hodges

17.5 sedan had a pair of locals show the way around all through qualifying. Michael "Toastie" Toth took the opening qualifier and Chris Kemper took the second and third round giving Kemper the overall. A highly questionable setup decision by Toastie and Kemper made the main even pretty entertaining. The start of the race, Toastie put Kemper under a lot of pressure while third place qualifier Johnee Fenimore held his own always within striking distance. Mistakes by the top two allowed Johnee to move into first with just over a minute to go. Johnee closed out the final round of the series with a win. Kemper and Toastie were 2nd and 3rd. In the overall, Chris Kemper would be your state Champion followed by Johnee Fenimore and then Andrew Doherty.



















17.5 Sedan Round 5 Results:

1. Johnee Fenimore

2. Chris Kemper

3. Toastie

4. Chris Jones

5. Andrew Doherty



















17.5 Sedan Series Champions:

1. Chris Kemper

2. Johnee Fenimore

3. Andrew Doherty

In USGT, Larry Myers would set the early pace, and take TQ honors after only the first two qualifiers. However, the A Main proved to be anything but a cake walk for Myers. 2nd place qualifier, Chris Jones, would push Myers the whole race with little breathing room. Myers stood up to the pressure, and never provide an opportunity for Jones to overtake. Myers ended up 1st followed by Jones in 2nd, and Billy Land, who would work his way up from 5th on the pole, to round out the podium in 3rd. The third place finish by Land would all him to claim the overall USGT state Championship followed by Chris Jones in 2nd, and Sean Bloch in 3rd.



















USGT Round 5 Results:

1. Larry Myers

2. Chris Jones

3. Billy Land

4. Ronnie Pena

5. Nick Sibigtroth



















USGT Series Champions:

1. Billy Land

2. Chris Jones

3. Sean Bloch

The pace was set early in the 25.5 sedan class by Josh Barry. Barry TQ'ed all three rounds of qualifying while holding off challenges from both Joe Maxey and Todd Koch. At the start of the A-main the top three qualifiers got off to a clean start. Barry held off an early charge by Joe Maxey until a brush of the pipes by Maxey would allow Todd Koch slip into second. Eventually, Maxey would regain 2nd, but could never catch Barry. Koch would round out the podium position in 3rd. Once the dust settled at the end of the main, the overall 25.5 state title would go to Larry Myers, followed by Joe Maxey in 2nd, and Josh Barry in 3rd.



















25.5 Sedan Round 5 Results:

1. Josh Barry

2. Joe Maxey

3. Todd Koch

4. Lyndon Looger

5. Jay Black



















25.5 Sedan Series Champions:

1. Larry Myers

2. Joe Maxey

3. Josh Barry

1/12th Scale proved to be about who could put down the most consistent laps during the A Main. TQ setter and 1st place finisher Chris Jones showed that consistency was more important than outright speed. Jones would only have the 3rd fastest lap of the main, but was more consistent than 2nd place finisher, Nick Sibigtroth, and 3rd place finisher, Jim Hartnett. The overall state series title in 1/12th scale would go to Johnee Fenimore in 1st, followed by Doug Bryson in 2nd, and Nick Sibigtroth in 3rd.



















1/12th Scale Round 5 Results:

1. Chris Jones

2. Nick Sibigtroth

3. Jim Hartnett

4. Doug Bryson

5. Chris Brame



















1/12th Scale Series Champions:

1. Johnee Fenimore

2. Doug Bryson

3. Nick Sibigtroth

While GT8E was not a standard class during the 2017 TEOS, it was offered as an exhibition class at all the asphalt tracks events. Paul Gaertner claimed the TQ honors, and took a commanding lead during the main. Gaertner would claim the victory with 3 laps up on second place finisher Wayne Stuntz. Starting 2nd on the grid for the main, Aaron Grant would suffer from electrical problems which would drop him out of contention and into 3rd overall.

GT8E Round 5 Results:

1. Paul Gaertner

2. Wayne Stuntz

3. Aaron Grant